Andrés Montoya's family and friends have sought to keep his memory alive. With the re-release of the iceworker sings and other poems and the publication of a jury of trees, Andrés's poetry can find a new generation of readers. But Andrés was also an educator and an activist, and his impact was more than just about the words on the page. He strove for societal change; he wanted the world to be a more equitable and just place. Andrés was passionate about his beliefs and he brought that passion into every interaction, whether with family and friends, fellow poets, or with his students inside and outside the classroom. The following scholarships and prizes honor this legacy.  Please visit the support page to contribute to these initiatives.

Lezlie Salkowitz-Montoya

Andrés Montoya POetry Prize

The Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize was created by Letras Latinas, the literary initiative of the Institute for Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame to honor Montoya and his work. The prize is awarded to a first book by a Latino/a poet residing in the United States and includes a cash prize and publication by the University of Notre Dame Press. Prize coordinator Francisco Aragón wrote about the formation of the prize in 2007 on the Letras Latinas blog.


The Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize supports the work of emerging Latinx poets. The Prize provides a space for artists who, while part of the largest and fastest growing minority in the United States, are also increasingly diverse in their modes of literary expression. The Prize, therefore, does not privilege any particular style, subject matter, or aesthetic. While not losing sight of the traditions and conditions that gave rise to that literary expression, the Prize has as its goal to nurture the various paths that Latinx poetry is taking in the 21st Century. The Prize is awarded every other year.


Winner 2004

Sheryl Luna

selected by Robert Vazquez



Winner 2006

Gabriel Gomez

selected by Valerie Martínez



Winner 2008

Paul Martínez Pompa

selected by Martín Espada



Winner 2010

Emma Trelles

selected by Silvia Curbelo



Winner 2012

Laurie Ann Guerrero

selected by Francisco X. Alarcón



Winner 2014

David Campos

selected by Rhina P. Espaillat



Winner 2016

Felicia Zamora

selected by Edwin Torres



Winner 2018

Heidi Andrea

Restrepo Rhodes

selected by Ada Limón



Winner 2020

Darrel Alejandro Holnes

selected by John Murillo


Gabriel Gomez 2006

Paul Martínez Pompa 2008

Emma Trelles 2010

Laurie Ann Guerrero 2012

David Campos 2014

Felicia Zamora 2016

Heidi Andrea Restrepo Rhodes 2018

Darrel Alejandro Holnes 2020

Heidi Andrea Restrepo Rhodes 2018

2022 Prize is Open for Submissions

Deadline: January 15, 2022


Judge: Alexandra Lytton Regalado

Andrés Montoya Creative Writing Scholarship

Fresno State

The Andres Montoya Memorial Creative Writing Scholarships are awarded annually by the Montoya family through the Master of Fine Arts Program in Creative Writing and the Fresno State Foundation. Two scholarships (one at the undergraduate and one at the graduate level) of $500 are awarded each fall to students who demonstrate significant interest in Chicano culture and/or history and who are pursuing a career in the field of creative writing. Recipients must be enrolled at California State University, Fresno during the award year. Selections are based on talent and financial need.

Past winners have published widely. Click the names below or the books at right to learn more about these writers.

Mariah Bosch, Michael Cantú, Kirk Alvaro Lua, Carolina Mata, Javier Lopez, Alexandra Carrillo,  Arthur Morales, Christina Legler, Daniel E. Arias-Gómez, Mireyda Barraza Martinez, J.J. Hernandez, Jackie Huertaz, Teresa S. Chacón, Jessica Santillan, Steven Sanchez, Cynthia Guardado, Alejandro Lara, Alvaro Huerta, Mario Rosado, Erin L. Álvarez, David Campos, Juan Luis Guzmán, James Espinoza, Emily Tallman, Nancy Hernandez, Irene de la Vega, Michael Luis Medrano, Marisol Baca, Marie Chan, Kenneth R. Chacón, James Pablo Tyner, Cecile Lopez

Andrés Montoya Puente Scholarship

Chabot COllege, Hayward, CA

Andrés Montoya was a Puente English instructor at Chabot College. Reflecting Montoya's legacy as an "activist writer” who gave voice to the Chicano experience and to student empowerment, this award is granted to students who have shown a passion for writing and activism and a commitment to completing their education. Chabot College Puente Project has awarded the Andrés Montoya Scholarship to students since 2000 when it was started by Ramon Parada, who was Montoya's Puente partner. See more info about recent winners here.