The Andrés Montoya POetry Prize

The Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize supports the publication of a first full-length book of poems by a Latinx poet residing in the United States. Established in 2004 by Letras Latinas at the University of Notre Dame’s Institute for Latino Studies, the prize is now administered by the Huizache Literary Initiative at UC Davis.


The winning poet will receive $1000 from the Huizache Literary Initiative and a contract from University of Nevada Press as part of its New Oeste Series. Upon publication of the winning book, the Huizache Literary Initiative will extend an invitation to both the winner and the judge to give a joint reading at UC Davis. In addition, Letras Latinas will extend an invitation to the winner to present their work at the University of Notre Dame.


The Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize is awarded every other year. There is no entry fee. Submissions will open on November 1, 2023.


The deadline is February 16, 2024


Judge: Juan Felipe Herrera

About the Prize

The Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize was created in 2004 by Letras Latinas, the literary initiative of the Institute for Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame to honor Montoya and his work. Founding coordinator Francisco Aragón wrote about the formation of the prize in 2007 on the Letras Latinas blog.


Created at a time when publishing opportunities for Latinx poets were few, the Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize established itself as a key outlet for emerging Latinx poets. Winners have reflected a broad range of backgrounds and aesthetic styles and have gone on to prolific and decorated careers. Judges of the Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize have included the most prominent voices in Latinx literature, including current U.S. Poet Laureate Ada Limón, National Book Award winner Martín Espada, and foundational poets such as Francisco X. Alarcón and Rhina P. Espaillat. The judge for the upcoming prize will be Juan Felipe Herrera, former California and U.S. Poet Laureate as well as one of Andrés’s mentors.


The Prize provides a space for artists who, while part of the largest and fastest growing minority in the United States, are also increasingly diverse in their modes of literary expression. The prize, therefore, does not privilege any particular style, subject matter, or aesthetic.


Winner 2004

Sheryl Luna

selected by Robert Vazquez



Winner 2006

Gabriel Gomez

selected by Valerie Martínez



Winner 2008

Paul Martínez Pompa

selected by Martín Espada



Winner 2010

Emma Trelles

selected by Silvia Curbelo



Winner 2012

Laurie Ann Guerrero

selected by Francisco X. Alarcón



Winner 2014

David Campos

selected by Rhina P. Espaillat



Winner 2016

Felicia Zamora

selected by Edwin Torres



Winner 2018

Heidi Andrea

Restrepo Rhodes

selected by Ada Limón



Winner 2020

Darrel Alejandro Holnes

selected by John Murillo



Winner 2022

Jordan Pérez

selected by Alexandra Lytton Regalado and Sheila Maldonado

Gabriel Gomez 2006

Paul Martínez Pompa 2008

Emma Trelles 2010

Laurie Ann Guerrero 2012

David Campos 2014

Felicia Zamora 2016

Heidi Andrea Restrepo Rhodes 2018

Darrel Alejandro Holnes 2020

Heidi Andrea Restrepo Rhodes 2018

2024 Prize will open for submissions soon

Deadline: February 16, 2024


Judge: Juan Felipe Herrera

Andrés Montoya Creative Writing Scholarship

Fresno State

The Andres Montoya Memorial Creative Writing Scholarships are awarded annually by the Montoya family through the Master of Fine Arts Program in Creative Writing and the Fresno State Foundation. Two scholarships (one at the undergraduate and one at the graduate level) of $500 are awarded each fall to students who demonstrate significant interest in Chicano culture and/or history and who are pursuing a career in the field of creative writing. Recipients must be enrolled at California State University, Fresno during the award year. Selections are based on talent and financial need.

Past winners have published widely. Click the names below or the books at right to learn more about these writers.

David R. Carrasco Gomez, Hermelinda Hernandez Monjaras, Victoria Monsivaiz, Aidan Castro, Mariah Bosch, Michael Cantú, Kirk Alvaro Lua, Carolina Mata, Javier Lopez, Alexandra Carrillo,  Arthur Morales, Christina Legler, Tatiana Gómez, Mireyda Barraza Martinez, J.J. Hernandez, Jackie Huertaz, Teresa S. Chacón, Jessica Santillan, Steven Sanchez, Cynthia Guardado, Alejandro Lara, Alvaro Huerta, Mario Rosado, Erin L. Álvarez, David Campos, Juan Luis Guzmán, James Espinoza, Emily Tallman, Nancy Hernandez, Irene de la Vega, Michael Luis Medrano, Marisol Baca, Marie Chan, Kenneth R. Chacón, James Pablo Tyner, Cecile Lopez